Skip Discover Education Main Navigation
Skip Discover Education Main Navigation

Home> DEN Leadership Council

photos DEN

DEN Leadership Council (DENLC)

 DEN LC members are the most active members of the DEN. They mentor new STARs and each other. DEN LC members host local events supported by Discovery Education. They support social media efforts and contribute regularly to the DEN blogs.


What do DENLC members do?

Being a part of the DEN Leadership Council is a commitment, but it also comes with many rewards. DEN LC Members commit to attend monthly team meetings, the LC Insider, and to remain active.

By remaining actively engaged, members of the DEN LC receive a number of benefits:
+ Active voice in shaping the DEN
+ Increased networking opportunities
+ Access to expanded features in Discovery Education
+ Formal recognition (e.g., press releases, features on the DEN website, etc.)
+ Priority for exclusive events (e.g. Summer Institute, Discovery Channel events, etc.)

All STAR Discovery Educators are invited to apply to be a part of the DEN LC each spring. DEN LC members choose a team with whom to work. Here’s a little information about each team and what they do.


Blog/Social Media Team- Plans efforts to connect STARs through social media. Frequently contributes to the DENblogs about local and global events/interests.

Events Team- Plans local and regional events supported by Discovery Education. All members of this team are expected to support or host at least one LC event. The Spring and Fall VirtCons are perfect launching points.

DEN Ambassador Team- Provides support to districts that are just beginning to launch the DEN Community. Members are paired with one of Discovery Education's partner districts to provide additional support and answer questions. 

Innovation & Strategy Team- Provides feedback/ideas for product improvement, community enhancement.

DEN Connects Team- Creates projects and supports opportunities for educators to connect their classes with other classes involved in the project.

DEN LC Content & Curriculum Team- Provides feedback on existing content and curriculum about our free partnership programs as well as guides the resources being built to support these programs. 

Enrollment in the DEN Leadership Council occurs each April.



Join Us for an Event
Get Active All Year Long
I love the DEN because of all the opportunities it gives me to connect with other educators that are passionate about learning, students, and technology. I also love the DEN because it supports teachers in their endeavor to try new technology in the classroom. Most of all I love the DEN for giving teachers opportunity to share how technology makes teaching more fun, engaging and meaningful to students.
photos DEN